Home Forums Bike Forum Nexus 8 speed internal hubs…

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Nexus 8 speed internal hubs…
  • elwoodblues
    Free Member

So, let me be the first to admit that I am no expert on internal hub gears…

The wife has a bike equipped with an 8 speed nexus hub, rollerbrake model. I had never really tried the bike before today, and I must say that it was an unpleasant surprise.

When pedaling, it feels “notchy”… Like the chain is stiff, which it is not. When coasting, it feels like someone has thrown a handful of gravel into the hub. Is this normal? The bike is 9 months old, has gone about 2000 kilometers  and has been to all the service checks at my LBS. As I said, I am no expert  so I thought I would ask for some advise from the STW hive before I go kick up a stink at the LBS.

shermer75
    Free Member

I had an Alfine 8 and it certainly wasn’t smooth, in fact I remember it being so bad when I first got it that I also thought about taking it back. It took a pretty long time but it definitely got a lot smoother!! :-)

thepodge
    Free Member

The nexus and alfine do rumble in some gears, especially when back pedaling

shermer75
    Free Member

I used to call 5th gear ‘the coffee grinder’ lol erg

tjagain

it might grind and whirr – straight cut cogs but shouldn’t feel notchy.  Service on them is annual oil dunk for the gear cluster – dunno about the roller brake.  check the cable alignment which they are very sensitive to.  sounds to me like it might just be a tiny bit out of adjustment or the roller brake needs fettling.  Roller brakes are counter intuitive – they need to be loaded with grease IIRC so could be a dry roller brake?

Needs to go to someone who understands them – your LBS might not have dealt much with them – roller brake nexus hubs are not common.

tjagain
    elwoodblues
    Free Member

Thanks for the replies!