Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 175 total)
  • Whats up with my XT brakes?
  • edward2000
    Free Member

When i pull the lever, it obviously travels until the pads made contact, but when i release them and pull them again straight away, the lever doesn’t travel as far, about half the distance as it initially travelled. This can be a bit dangerous at times!

A bike shop bleed didnt fix it either.

Any ideas?

twiglet_monster
    Free Member

Interesting – I seem to get the same behaviour with my SLX version..

TM

legend
    Free Member
    scotroutes

One of my M8000s was behaving like this until I bled it properly. The only problem I’m currently experiencing is delayed braking in sub zero temperatures, mostly when the rotors are also wet. Might try a different compound pad. Maybe ice-tech is just too effective!

tom.nash

Exactly the same with XTs, really dangerous! No matter how many times I bleed it (and I’m a mechanic). Back to Hopes very soon!

Daffy

This was just one of several reasons why I ditched my 3 sets of XTRs for a return to Hope Tech.

ndthornton
    Free Member

Id also like to know what the answer to this is…

Have a set of SLX’s on my winter bike which are without doubt the best brakes Iv ever owned (NOTE: previously hope fan boy – thought they were ace but think they are distinctly average now in comparison).

Liked the SLX so much I bought some XTR for my posh bike. No so happy with these – they are just as powerful as the SLX but suffer from the pump up problem stated above. The first pull goes almost all the way back to the bars and subsequent pulls are just about right. Power is good on both pulls with no sponginess at all so I find it hard to believe their is air in the system. But you always need to pull the lever twice which is annoying and run the lever further from the bars than I would like.