Home Forums Bike Forum homemade headset press

Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • homemade headset press
  • nunuboogie
    Free Member

any instructions on how to make one, have a threaded rod, just need to find some bad ass washers.

clubber
    Free Member

Or just some 8 or 10mm threaded rod and matching washers/nuts from B&Q/Wickes/etc

Splash-man
    Free Member

In the past I always prefer the big hammer approach……….however I am tempted just to get some threaded bar and washers as clubber mentioned as my frames seem to get more fragile.

Simples ;)

Junkyard
    Free Member

rubber mallet negates need for wood

bassspine
    Free Member

The one headset ever that I fitted with a hammer and a bit of wood was the one headset I have ever had problems with. (This was in the old days, when I worked in IT)

I have since fitted literally hundreds (10 years working in the cycle industry) and no headset fitted with a press has been as problematic.

DrP

Sounds like you don't need any instructions TBH. Put those bits you have together, then crush the headset into the frame….

DrP

TheBrick
    Free Member

best: proper headset press.
    Ok: theaded bar + washers + care and attention adjusting if no pulling in square
    if you really have: hammer and wood. Being as threaded bar + washers can be had for a few quid there really is no reason

scruff
    Free Member

DIY- 2 nuts on one end to hold washer tight, so you only ever tighten up the one side. Do 1 cup at a time.

shedfull
    Free Member

I jacked my Vito van up, put wood, frame, headset cup and more wood under the towbar then lowered the van slowly with the trolley jack. Worked a treat.

bigyinn
    Free Member

If you have access to a G Clamp large enough they are spectacularly good at fitting headsets.

DrP

Merc van headset press – brilliant!

Park tools advise a berlingo for bleeding maguras, and a transporter for sticky cranks…. ;-)

DrP

Stoatsbrother
    Free Member