Viewing 23 posts - 1 through 23 (of 23 total)
  • Snowboarding board decisions
  • theflatboy
    Free Member

So I’m off to Tignes next easter, and I can’t work out which option to go for board-wise out of:

a) take my own very old but good when I got it board;
    b) rent a board out there; or
    c) get a new board.

Last few times I went I’ve taken my ancient board, but now I’m thinking that things must have progressed so much that I might be better getting rid of it even in favour of hiring a modern one. But then I think should I just buy a modern one? Tough decisions… what would you guys do?

bigjim

I used to rent, but bought a YES Basic and some salomon bindings in a sale, the difference compared to the rental stuff was night and day, wish I’d bought sooner. I’m no expert but I imagine there has been a lot of progress in board profiles over the years. Some experts will be along shortly to argue and disagree with each other.

GrahamS

It can be worth hiring when you factor in the cost of board carriage on the plane (especially on Easyjet or Ryan Air!)

How old is your current board?

Have you tried the various new(ish) board shapes?

Can you make it along to a demo day at one of the snowdomes?

I settled on my current board (Bataleon Goliath) after riding a whole bunch of boards at the Big Bang Snowboard Show and loving the TBT profile on the Bataleons.

david47
    Free Member

I got very grumpy with wife a few birthdays a go for ‘wasting’ money on a new board when I had my trusty board and bindings in the roof, i’m not good enough to notice the difference… Or so I thought. I did apologise after using it for the first time… much easier to ride than my old kit…

theflatboy
    Free Member

bj, that’s what I’m thinking, and obviously the economics of continually renting rather than owning are a factor here.