Viewing 26 posts - 1 through 26 (of 26 total)
  • Migraine and sick notes
  • Coyote
    Free Member

Heard of some guy at work who went to the docs with a head ache and was given a sick note for a week after being diagnosed with a migraine. Does this sound right? I would have thought that he would have been sent home with the necessary medication and then told to come back after a week self certifying for a sick note if necessary.

allan23
    Free Member

Sounds a bit iffy to me… but I’m not a doctor so probably not qualified to guess.

I’m not a Human Remains vampire either so can’t really condemn someone for being lucky enough to pull a sickie for a week 🙂

hilldodger
    Free Member

Perhaps the employee doesn’t wish to go into details about their medical condition and just gives “migraine” as an easy answer to nosey collegaues, and to be honest it’s none of anyone elses’ business is it?

jeffl

Dunno but last time I self certified I refered to my illnes as a brown laser. My boss was very impressed.

wrecker
    Free Member

Sheesh if I get a migraine I couldn’t even get to the doctors, I certainly wouldn’t/couldn’t drive a car. Only lasts a day though.

cynic-al
    Free Member

Migraines can come in all shapes and sizes, I’ve seen them take folk out for a few days.

pk13

One put my daughter in A/E for 30 hours and took a week to recover. Don’t underestimate the power of them or the time it takes for normal services to resume.
    Hatful things

Coyote
    Free Member

Not doubting the effects of migraines at all. I have suffered in the past. It just seemed strange to be issued with a sick note when one wasn’t needed. More so when added to other contributory factors.

Drac

It just seemed strange to be issued with a sick note when one wasn’t needed.

It would seem it was.

slowoldgit
    Free Member

I’ve had them last for two days, and the next is a bit weird. Then there’s the downside of not eating and drinking. People vary.