Home Forums Bike Forum Marin pine mountain penknife bike- gravel wheels and tyre recommendations please

• This topic has 7 replies, 5 voices, and was last updated 2 weeks ago by PJay.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Marin pine mountain penknife bike- gravel wheels and tyre recommendations please
  • timizere

I have a steel Marin pine mountain, which currently has 27.5 x 3 tyres and a 130mm fork on it. I use it for bikepacking and some general local trail bashing. I’d like to make it faster for road/gravel for winter, so am planning the following changes-

Hunt 29r xc wheel set, 26/28mm inner diameter

Something like 2.1 mezcal tyres

38 tooth chainring.

It came rigid so I’ll put the rigid fork back on.

Do we think these changes will make it a worthy of road/gravel or should I go even skinnier with the wheels and tyres? I’m a total road noob and have never owned a road/gravel bike.

superstu
    Free Member

If I remember that bike has quick release boost rear wheel which might limit wheel options. Is there definitely space for a 29r? I know my old whyte 905 wouldn’t.

matt_outandabout

All I can add is that Mezcals are fast off road. But there’s much faster on road tyres & treads. As ever, tyres are a set of compromises.

I put Mezcals on my Marin Nail Trail and revel in the light weight and nippyness, but they area still quite wide and a tread. My 50mm (1.9?) Continental Terra Hardpack fly along in comparison on hard trails and roads.

timizere

If I remember that bike has quick release boost rear wheel which might limit wheel options. Is there definitely space for a 29r? I know my old whyte 905 wouldn’t.

yeh its boost qr both ends, but hunt supply hub adapters for qr so it shouldn’t be an issue. There’s a fair bit of clearance with chunky 3.0 tyres so I assume 29×2.3ish should be ok too.