Viewing 27 posts - 1 through 27 (of 27 total)
  • Cwmcarn Revelation
  • SaxonRider

I am ashamed to say that in 13 years of visiting Cwmcarn, various circumstances mean that I have only ever ridden Twrch. That all changed yesterday, however, when I rode Cafall for the first time.

It was FANTASTIC, and far superior (for me) to Twrch. I can’t believe it has taken me so long to try it out, and I look forward to doing it again.

Anyone have a similar experience?

benpinnick

Isnt it half closed now?

SaxonRider

There were certainly a couple of diversions, but it’s still a good 15-ish kilometres with a long climb and great descent, so I can’t imagine where the closures would be. Of course, not having ridden Cafall before, I have no previous experience to compare it to.

rickonwheels
    Free Member

According to this post, there’s a section about halfway completely diverted, so you’re in for more of a treat when it reopens.

baldiebenty
    Free Member

Haven’t been back for a year but I used to enjoy Cafall, you had to work for it in order to find any flow on the climbs.

Always felt like doing a compressed Enduro with climb, descent, climb, descent, climb, climb, climb descent, descent etc.

Want to get back there but I’m a bit put off going back right now by the diversions and I basically have to drive past the Forest Of Dean to get there.

marksnook
    Free Member

Cafell rules! It’s our standard night route when everywhere is wet. We normally do the fireroad climb to quadzilla at night though. I thought it was twrch that had the diversion? Haven’t been over in a month or so though.

It has been very busy there at weekends lately, good thing of course! Hope it continues to be busy, it’ a killer area. Would like to find some of the off piste stuff there..

skybluestu
    Free Member

I am due to go up there on Saturday. Is both red doable easily in a day with some dh runs 2

antennae
    Free Member