Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • Rushup Edge – DCC's view, perhaps
  • Esme
    Free Member

I’m starting this thread to highlight Derbyshire County Council’s strategic documents, which they will (almost certainly) be adhering to. I hope it’s useful to those public-spirited folks who are trying to engage with the powers-that-be.

Please only use this thread if you want to comment on the documents, or the political process. Otherwise it’s best to use the main thread.

(I’m not a local, or connected with DCC in any way – but I have some experience of how councils work, and campaigning for access in another sport)

Esme
    Free Member

To get a full understanding of the political situation you’d also need to look at the Local Access Forum minutes.
    They recently made some interesting comments on the new Cycle Strategy and Action Plan, which contains a brief mention of MTB:

Action 1.4 Enhancing Peak District mountain biking experience
    Mountain biking is not given sufficient attention as a major activity with users subscribing to the Peak District economy, but with challenges and opportunities which need to be addressed strategically and incorporated in this strategy. This really is fundamental and should not be left for a future report as we gather maybe the intention.

There should be discussion and engagement with this substantial user interest with 300 activists in the Peak. We could probably help with that. There is a newly formed Peak Mountain biking group who have been in contact with Peak Officers. They have the 300 members – http://www.peakdistrictmtb.org.uk. A goal to build a Peak District Mountain Bike Group with users would be welcome.

There should be a commitment to develop opportunities in the short term action plan . . . . . . This would contribute significantly to Sport England objectives of retaining young people in sport.