Viewing 33 posts - 1 through 33 (of 33 total)
  • PGCE am I doing the right thing or not for me?
  • Kojaklollipop
    Free Member

I’m guessing there’ll be a few on here who’ve been in a similar position? I worked as a techician for 3+ years in a DT department and thought the next step would be to teach, I have a relevant degree, but I’m finding it difficult, exausting and stressful to keep up with all the paperwork, it’s definately a big change from what I was doing previously, it’s like doing two full time jobs at the same time, don’t find any time for the bike or social life now and work regularly til late staring at a computer screen, I really enjoy being in the classroom and teaching the children, it’s fantastic, but struggling with lesson plans, starters, plenaries, evaluations, etc. It would be great if you could just concentrate on the school work but there’s loads of written assignments and constant work from the university too, you are constantly bombarded with have you done this, when are you going to do that, you need to catch up on this, you need to attend this, sign up for this, arrange that, you haven’t answered the email, don’t miss this lecture, where’s your ITDP’s, SA Forms, link tutor meetings, aaarrrggghhh! So, it’s all feeling a bit too much and the thought of telling them where to stick there course and quiting would be such a relief! I’m supposd to be getting a load of work done tonight but I’ve had enough and my brain has turned to mush and my vision has gone blurry 😕

Is this normal, is that what all PGCE students go through and feel? Or, is it a case of I’ll never enjoy it and always struggle so it’s just not for me?

cynic-al
    Free Member

it’s only 1 year…MTFU (sorry).

poly
    Free Member

it’s only 1 year…MTFU (sorry).

Its only 40 weeks!

You should possibly be having this discussion with the tutor not a bunch on IT managers on tinternet!