• This topic has 26 replies, 14 voices, and was last updated 8 years ago by iainc.
Viewing 27 posts - 1 through 27 (of 27 total)
  • Inexpensive but good track bikes.
  • shermer75
    Free Member

This’ll be my first and I’m a poor student so trying to keep the costs down. I’m tempted by a Condor as they take time to for the bike to you, making sure tat te stem is the right length etc. their bike cost £950 though, and I was hopping to pay less- somewhere round the £750 mark or even less would do nicely. What’s out there? Any killer bargains?

lunge

Planet X was my first thought, £700 gets you this, no idea if it’s any good or not. If you fit a large this may be even better.

iainc

Dolan. There is a reason why they are so popular 🙂

you can spec out a decent PreCursa for £600

RustySpanner

Fuji Track are lovely.
    £280 from Evans at the mo.

shermer75
    Free Member

Thanks for that! I am definitely a large, so that would be good. In fact, at 6’4″ (193cm) I might be a little too large for even a large Planet X (58cm top tube) or am I talking out of my arse there?

shermer75
    Free Member

That Fuji bike does look lovely and it’s a great price but I’m look to ride semi-competitively so I’m probably going be looking at aluminium or carbon frames…

kbomb
    Free Member

PLanet X’s are great track bikes, plenty of very fast people win lots on them. Track racing isn’t about the bike though, if you’re fast, an old Langster will do the job.

shermer75
    Free Member

Those Dolan bikes look pretty special. There’s an awful lot of choice there with the specs, too. Nice one…

shermer75
    Free Member

Track racing isn’t about the bike though, if you’re fast, an old Langster will do the job.

Agreed, but if I have to buy one anyway I might as well be looking at something that is half decent. Plus you’re assuming that I’m fast!!! 😉

shermer75
    Free Member

Does anybody know which shops sell Dolan bikes so I can go and take a look at them? I’m London based.