Home Forums Bike Forum Sram rear just ‘exploded’ – what do I do??

Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Sram rear just ‘exploded’ – what do I do??
    fazzini

I’m no bike mechanic, and this SRAM rear set up is all new to me. Canyon Neuron CF9 AXS, DT Swiss XM 1700 on 350 hub.

Taking the chain off to clean, and took rear wheel out of bike. Large clang and the cassette and these bits are on the floor. Help please…I’m meant to be away on Monday for 4 days biking.

IMG_20240927_191243IMG_20240927_191218IMG_20240927_191249

DickBarton

The good news is, that all pushes on so easy to fix. Bad news is, I’ve no idea the order it goes on!

mashr

You’re freehub likely has nothing to do with Sram.

spring > ring > ring > spring and shove it back on again. Then carefully have a look to see if there’s anything wrong with the hub and freehub (taking the cassette off would be a good idea).

What hub is it? There are a lot of designs that the freehub just pulls off of. Thought the days of them just falling off were long gone though

thepurist

DT freehub has dropped off the axle – they can do that. Make sure there’s no grit in the exposed faces then put a spring over the axle, then a ratchet with its teeth facing out, a ratchet with teeth facing in (so the ridged bits are together), then the other spring. Then push the cassette back onto the axle until it seats.

If you have a cassette tool to get it off the freehub that makes reassembly a bit simpler, but it’s doable either way.

kelvin

Get an exploding diagram of the hub (and its freehub). What make is it?

endoverend