Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Why do Bontrager make their tyres so effing tight??!!!
  • KevinPP
    Free Member

That`s it really. Wanted to get 2 new Jones ACX tyres fitted tonight before I went out. Two hours so far, tubeless on no-flats rim strips. Tight as….. I know they are tubeless ready but surely they do not need to be that bloody tight! Sod it. They can wait until tomorrow.
    Need a drink now!

scaredypants

I'd guess it's the rim strip that's doing it rather then the tyre (you've just added half a mm or so to the radius of the rim haven't you ?)

(I can get a mud-x tubeless on & off a flow/yellow tape without levers and I'm no expert)

WHat rims ?
    HAs the strip filled up the central valley completely? – if not, make very sure you push the bead right into the valley all round before getting the last bit over the rim edge

robarnold
    Free Member

I'd rather have a tight tyre than have the fookin thing burp and throw me down the road on my face…..

tonyg2003

My jones ACX are hanging on the garage wall. Far too tight to bother puting on the Bonty rims they came with. The might be OK with a 22mm rim but for a 24-25mm rim they are lever busting tight. I don't enjoy that sort of hassle out on the trail.

KevinPP
    Free Member

These are 2.35s on 717s, and yes it is the strip that makes it extra extra hard, but have got the same on a pair of Flows which were also a struggle to get on. Mud-x seem to be a bit looser. Hoping I don`t get any splits in the tyre once they are on…

GhostRider
    Free Member

I used to curse my ACX's but all you need is watered down fairy liquid, wipe it round the rims, use fingers to get most of the tyre on then use good strong tyre levers, plastic coated soild steel core, then use a track pump until POP's your uncle.

Slime tubes are a good idea saves a lot of faf on the trail.

Did some one say tubeless,,,, don't start me,

Lucas
    Free Member