Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Shimano Deore m596 or slx m666 or oro k18
  • gaberin
    Free Member

Is it worth the extra £30 for the slx over the deore? What more does the slx have?

Or should i go for formula oro k18 for £100 : http://www.rosebikes.co.uk/article/formula-disc-brake-k18-front-wheel-247727/aid:247729

couldashouldawoulda
    Free Member

I’ve no experience of the Deores, but slx and k18’s are both very very good brakes.

I got rid of my formulas after I couldnt get simple parts for them (eg olives – but this was 2 years back!) which has apparently changed since.

I imagine the deores are like the slx’s but possible lack some of the lever adjustability or the “bling” factor. You could probably live without both.

The formulas feel different to the shimano’s though- there’s a lot more intial pull with the shimanos before hard braking starts. That’ll probably come down to what you prefer. Personally – I like that – and also the near zero faff with the shimanos – and the 2 year warranty (prev gen got replaced FOC).

dantsw13

I have the new Deores. They won the MBR group test a few months back. They are the same as the SLX/XT ones apart from :
    2 part caliper not 1 part
    Split pin pad retainer not screw, but I believe if you buy a XT pin it fits
    Plastic reservoir cap not blingy chrome
    Heavier alloy
    No free stroke adjust.
    Allan key required for lever adjust, but unlike my Elixirs, it is easy to get at.

One of my buddies has the XT, and another the SLX. Considering the price difference, and the fact that braking performance is the same on all 3, I’m glad I got the Deores.

RamseyNeil
    Free Member

You missed that the SLX has servowave which means the lever pull ratio lessens the further you pull the lever , this means that the pads initially sit further from the disc . Deore doesn’t have this feature .Nor does it have the possibility of using the finned pads which you can use with SLX .

wurzelcube