Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 114 total)
  • Police Pay
  • footflaps

The starting salary for police constables is being cut by £4,000 to £19,000, the home secretary has confirmed.

Can see this being popular!

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-21027176

atlaz
    Free Member

That’s not much more than I earned when I graduated from Uni 16 years ago. Do they want recruits?

footflaps

I started on £14k in 1992, which was quite good back then, although BA was starting graduates on £20k, which was top whack at the time.

mafiafish
    Free Member

As much as I find the police union(s) constant complaining annoying this really irks me. Yet again the newer, younger recruits get hit with the cuts and will have to pay for everyone else’s nice big public sector pensions while getting paid much less in real terms and having to contribute much more for their own pensions.

Graduate starting salaries seem to have dropped in real terms a bit over the last couple of years (excluding Oil and financial services). When I was looking £16,500 – £22,000 was the norm.

elzorillo
    Free Member

Thats still about £8000 more than my wife earns for a full time job in the public sector. A job that she’s been doing 10 years, required 3 years college and puts her in the line of danger every day (without the uniform to protect her).

mk1fan
    Free Member

V good for a A-level education standard though.

johndoh
    Free Member

Will they still get final salary pensions after 30 years (IIRC) in the force though? If so, that’s got to be a big consideration.

tyger
    Free Member

Well the MP’s payrise has to come from somewhere!

gusamc
    Free Member

it would be more sensible to obtain a clear and full definition of the benefits package and compare at that level:

– housing allowance ?
    – free travel ?
    – pension ?
    – overtime rates
    – hours
    etc etc salary is only part of the deal

timidwheeler