Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 47 total)
  • Fracking- I need a balanced view.
  • Ambrose

Here we go- I’m after non-polarised, balanced and well-reasoned information, views etc. I’m happy to admit that I’m playing ‘catch-up’ here, I really should know better but to date STW has been pretty good with OT queries.

I need to catch up PDQ on this one.

Background information.

I’m a geology graduate, now a science (biology and physics)teacher in a secondary school in Llanelli Borough, an area that is being considered by some as ripe for gas extraction via fracking. I need to know more about this method of gas extraction. Pro’s and Con’s, advantages and disadvantages, benefits and detrimental effects etc.

I’m out of date with stuff like this. I’ve gone round and round and round in circles and interlinked sites on Google- my brain is really cooked from the often highly emotionally charged tones from some of the stuff I’m reading.

Can anyone direct me to a lucid, reasoned and unbiased set of views about this issue? And if such information were to be GCSE friendly- I’ll buy you a pint/ chocolate/ doughnuts next time we meet 🙂

Much appreciated, Ambrose

ernie_lynch
    Free Member

I’m after non-polarised, balanced and well-reasoned information, views etc.

And you ask on here ? ffs

Good luck btw

JohnClimber
    Free Member

A balanced view

It’s great

It’s cr@p

Is that any good? 😉

ianfitz
    Free Member

I don’t know how accurate the often polarised reports are. Example – it made poison gas come out by water tap, and alternatively, its not proven to be harmful in any way.

But I’ve heard that the extended life of the North Sea and near shore Atlantic oil and gas fields will be heavily reliant on fracking to make them work. There’s a lot of benefit to the nation in keeping those fields operational.

muddy@rseguy

There is a (very) good and in-depth report on it from the Royal Society:

http://royalsociety.org/policy/projects/shale-gas-extraction/report/

grum