Viewing 30 posts - 1 through 30 (of 30 total)
  • Hardtails… 29 or 27.5? carbon or steel
  • lawman91

Been mulling over a hardtail build from the frame up for over a year now and still not sure what to go for!

It all started with the new Genesis Mantle, as I wanted a light bike I could use in winter and perhaps do a few XC races on in summer. Geometry is a bit short for a trail bike, but it’ll take a 120mm fork, dropper and decently wide tyres. All sorted. Or so I thought…

Then Cotic released the new Soul and having always wanted one but couldn’t afford one (went for a BFe instead back in 2013) that threw a real spanner in the works. The geometry is on the boundary of what I’d want, I had a Mondraker Foxy that I didn’t really get on with, so don’t want it to feel too extreme. Just to complicate matters that new Pace RC627 looks insanely nice too, having looked fondly on Pace hardtails when I started riding.

My worry is whether the Genesis will feel a little too XC and that the Soul or RC627 will be a bit extreme. In an ideal world I would love a Kona Honzo carbon but they are just too much money and frame only seems like a no go.

Would appreciate some thoughts from Soul owners or if anyone has another suggestions for a frame to go for as a bit of all-rounder.

ta11pau1

What’s the budget?

NormalMan

Shame you just missed the steel is real demo day but perhaps some who attended can help.

I am a huge fan of Cotic (although do like the look of that Pace and Sanderson stuff) so would ssy getting on a demo day with a Soul would be worth it.

lawman91

budget is up to around £700-£750, ideally less if possible (I can get a deal on the Genesis, but it is more than this)

cokie

Is that budget for frame only or complete bike?
    I see your comment about some bikes having geometry thats too progressive, but you really need to test some of these new bikes to understand that it’s not all about the numbers.