• This topic has 53 replies, 40 voices, and was last updated 13 years ago by mrmo.
Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 54 total)
  • Winter Mud Tyre
  • TractorFrog
    Free Member

Looking forward, the nights are getting darker and the terrain is getting wetter time for some good XC Mud tyres.

Short listed for this year are:

Maxxis Medusa 2.1 62a Exception

Bontrager Mud-X 2.0 (Dual Compound)

Specialized Storm Control 2.0 (Dual Compound)

Riding is done next to a river with LOTS of roots and (mostly night rides) so it gets super wet and sloppy, throw in some slippy bedrock and a road ride to get there and thats about it.

I have been running Medusas for the past 2 years, but wondering if the other two are going to be better with 120 TPI (High Volume, so lower pressures) and Dual Compound (softer on the side to the middle)

Anyone had experience of any of the above or can advise??

m_t_b
    Free Member

Mud x I was amazed by it last winter will not run anything else now. Cuts through mud and is rock steady on everything.

aviemoron
    Free Member

Raced on Bonty muds at the weekend on a muddy, rooty, off-camber, rocky, steep course – excellent. Hooked up on anything, able to brake/steer/climb everywhere, confidence inspiring and yet still fast enough on the fireroad section. I'm going to take them off and save them for the truly yeuch weather!

sheldona
    Free Member

Panaracer trailrakers are my tyre of choice for the winter, nothing else is as good ime. Well worth a look.

italspark
    Free Member

oi moron,
    the question was about winter tyres,
    dont you have a summer oooop north /

aviemoron
    Free Member

Er, it was sunny today, there was a nice day last month and I'm sure it was sunny for a couple of days in May or June. Snow on tops on Sunday. 🙂

TractorFrog
    Free Member

The Panaracer trailrakers also looks nice but with it only being 66TPI and having such marketing splurg as "ASB" and "ZSG" i'm lost already and on that note "I'm out"