Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Why did I get a puncture? (Tubeless issues)
  • Superficial
    Free Member

So I’m quite new to this whole tubeless thing, had it running 3 weeks or so. Stans Flow rims, Stans rim tape + sealant with ‘tubeless ready’ Nobby Nic snakeskins. No problems setting up etc, but today I was riding along and got a funny puncture on a rocky descent. Right in the middle of the tread pattern, a small approximately round hole no more than 0.5mm. It just wouldn’t seal! Occasionally a bit of sealant would spray out but it didn’t stop the air leak and the tyre went flat. So I did a bit of pumping air in / spinning the wheel / trying to get it to seal and nothing, still leaking air & I ended up having to put a tube in. There was still plenty of sealant sloshing around and it didn’t look manky / coagulated or anything. I don’t understand.

Basically I want to know why this happened, is it going to happen again, and should I try and patch the hole in the tyre before having another go with the sealant?

Rorschach
    Free Member

Its not infallible.I use these tubless plugs and you don’t even have to take the tyre off!!

HantsNightRider
    Free Member

Did you try stopping and putting the hole to the bottom so the sealant goes to the hole?

superfli
    Free Member

I sometimes have success with blocking the hole with my thumb and the hole at the bottom of the wheel. Hold it there for a while and it lets the liquid seal without spraying out.

Superficial
    Free Member

Yeah I tried holding the puncture down – nothing really came out but then as soon as I spun the wheel more air would come out.

For riding tomorrow would you:

a) stick some more goo in and hope for the best
    b) repair the tyre from the inside using a standard inner tube patch
    c) just use tubes until you can get some of those repair things.

muddyfunster
    Free Member

Superficial –
    c) just use tubes until you can get some of those repair things.