Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Mountain Bike Drivetrain, user survey please
  • dmoffitt90
    Free Member

Hi, I’m a 4th Year undergraduate Product Design Engineer at Strathclyde Uni in Glasgow and i’m looking at redesigning a mountain bike (specifically DH bike) drivetrain, as to be honest i’m sick of chainging rear mech’s chains etc. but the survey is not DH specific.

I emailed the moderation team a few weeks back about this and got the go ahead from Tom but if it is a problem i don’t mind it being taken down if its breaking the rules.

Survey in here !

I would be grearful if anyone could fill the survey out as its only 10 multiple choice questions.

Any other feedback would be great as i’m wanting to make a good effort of this.

David

professorfaceplant
    Free Member

don’t mean to burst your bubble but i fear the re-engineering may have already been done

http://www.pinkbike.com/news/allen-millyard-part-1-2008.html

having said that, this hasn’t taken off commercially (i think)so you might be able to work that angle

Rickos
    Free Member

Done.

dmoffitt90
    Free Member

professorfaceplant – yeah I seen the millyard moons ago and its really impressive, its part of my competitor anylysis.

I hope to go in a slightly different direction, so its just market research at the moment, concept generation is a bit away yet.

GW
    Free Member

done.

badly thought out survey

sugdenr
    Free Member

I dont mean this in a rude way, but cant you think of something useful to design with your valuable time and talents.

The Bamboo bike for developing countries springs to mind. Doing high end leisure sh*t is ok but you learn so much more at your stage of life if you do some ground up grass roots engineering based on ‘necessity’ limited budget and limited materials.