Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • average avid elixir brake pad life question
  • odannyboy
    Free Member

Not as broad and stupid question as you may think.i live in flat and chalky east anglia and was suprised by people who carry a set of pads on them “in case i wear a set out in a ride” i doubt that will happen round my way but to answer my question, i suppose im asking whats the longest a set could last? i do about 20- 30 miles a week.their the pads that were fitted from factory (does that mean they will be pants quality?).

also what the difference with sinitered and organic? what do they usually fit from factory?

sorry if this is muppety but im new to this game!

odannyboy
    Free Member

bump

TandemJeremy
    Free Member

Can of worms. From what I have heard – and no direct experience – avid seem to be one of the makes that is difficult to bed in thus giving very variable lifespan. Myself I believe that anything less than a thousand miles is not good enough and I regularly exceed this using hopes.

AndyA
    Free Member

Elixirs come with sintered pads (at least mine did), and mine are still going strong after 8 months or so, doing similar milage to yourself. Still plenty of life left in them too.

Stick in a search for the differences between sintered and organic pads as there’s whole threads disscussing it.

Hope that helps!

iamconfusedagain
    Free Member

I was speaking to someone the other day who reckons they last for ages and ages.

Its nice when pads last. I love my hopes the pads go on forever. My formulas (the one) would last about 5 rides!

philjunior
    Free Member

I’ve got juicy’s, pads last between 2 days (Alps/Peak District if it’s raining) and about 6-12 months for sintered pads for me, which supposedly last better.

A pair of spare pads weighs next to nothing so why not take them with you?