Viewing 32 posts - 1 through 32 (of 32 total)
  • Any mental health nurses here?
  • aphex_2k
    Free Member

How’s work going for you?

I’ve recently come back from working in Oz for the last 2 years. Seems there’s sod all around work wise unless I want to work for £11 ph in a nursing home. The only interest I’ve had has been from Learning Diss care homes but I’ve got no experience of working with this client group (unless it’s secondary to an existing MH condition). I’ve looked at Wolves, Brum, Shropshire, South Staffs, Worcester, Hereford and there’s just nothing for me. Even tried getting on the bank for these trusts but they say there’s a freeze on as there’s been so many cutbacks the bank shifts are going to existing staff who are supplementing their diminishing shifts and workloads.

Is it like this across the country?

deadlydarcy
    Free Member

TeeJ’s a mental health nurse I think. As is Philly, and possibly tazzy.

Coincidentally, they’re all a bit mental too. 🙂

noteeth
    Free Member

Is it like this across the country?

Everywhere is in deep freeze.

There’s not much in the way of jobs for newly qualified RNs, either… Impending skills gap alert. 🙁

TeeJ’s a mental health nurse

He’s a general adult nurse, iirc. Might be dual-trained, though – he does ride a tandem.

clubber
    Free Member

agency_scum is one too

deadlydarcy
    Free Member

He’s a general adult nurse, iirc

Oh sorry, I think he is yes…geriatrics these days maybe?

Anyway, he’s still mental.

philconsequence works in mental health, I know that much and fits right in. I think barnsley-mitch might be one too. I got him mixed up with tazz_mtb for some reason.

noteeth
    Free Member

I got him mixed up with tazz_mtb for some reason

I used to think CFH flew helicopters. Barnsley-Mitch is a psych nurse, I think – forensics, perhaps.

STW needs its own page on Linkedin, thereby establishing just how many work hours are being wasted & in what industries. 8)

deadlydarcy
    Free Member