Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • Windshirts
  • montgomery
    Free Member

I’ve been using Buffalo windshirts for 30 years. Tried a couple of alternatives, Montane and Haglofs, but always ended up back with a Buffalo. In need of a new one soon, what current options should I consider? Not bothered about packability, I’ll be wearing it; not interested in boil-in-the-bag waterproofs. Or do I just continue going with a British-made product that they got right first time?

scruff9252

It’s almost cold enough for my buffalo now & I expect I’ll be wearing it solidly until April.

It just works and perfect for winter Scottish climate.

sootyandjim
    Free Member

If you’re happy with Buffalo stick with that.

I’ve not found anything that I like enough to change.

chiefgrooveguru

I haven’t owned a Buffalo Windshirt but I used my Special 6 enough that I wore it out (which did take about 20 years!) well, I say “worn out”, the velcro and zips aren’t totally knackered but are only partly attached and thus semi-functional, the pertex has plenty of rips and the pile is pretty much ok despite looking heavily compressed, so it’s buried in the car for emergencies.

I got one of those Paramo windproof + fleece combos as a modular replacement. The fleece doesn’t work that well (not as water resistant as claimed, possibly due to the amount of dirt involved in MTBing and too slow to dry) so I sold that.

But the Enduro Windproof is outstanding. Well cut, not a big flappy thing like older Paramo. Very weather resistant (in prolonged heavy rain a waterproof would be a good idea but I haven’t needed one yet), plenty breathable, a hood with lots of adjustment that can fit over a helmet in the worst weather but otherwise makes a good high collar and big elbow to waist pit zips for venting, plus a double-ended main zip. And some sensible pockets. And the fabric feels tougher than any other windproof I’ve come across.