Viewing 29 posts - 1 through 29 (of 29 total)
  • Why didn’t the nipple-less Mavic rims take off?
  • legometeorology
    Free Member

I mean the ones with a fully-sealed rim bed, with spokes screwed directly into the rim

Mavic still make some as factory-built wheels: I just got a set of Allroad S and dear God the pure joy of not having to install rim tape, however many times I change tyres. Plus they hold pressure way better than my previous set ups with skinny tires (700x32mm currently)

So why isn’t something like this more common? I realise threading rims may have drawbacks. But an alternative could surely be to flip the interface of j-bend spokes, so they hook onto the rim via a small hole, and the nipples then slot into the hub. That’d reduce rotational inertia, too

I’m no wheel engineer though, so probably missing something

Houns

Got them on all but one of my bikes.

lovewookie

like crank brothers?

crank bros

or shimano’s old ones?

shimano wheel

Not certain, but I’d guess the rim needed to be heavier to take the design.

Mavics execution of it was much better, but then tyres got better designed with tubeless in mind (not just UST) so the advantage seemed less.

legometeorology
    Free Member

Hu, nice, aside from the Crank Bros one’s looking rough

So that’s even more designs that haven’t taken off: is this because the entrenchment of the incumbent design is hard to fight, or is the incumbent design itself hard to beat?

lovewookie

the crank bros ones were a nice idea. essentially a really long alu nipple from the hub. but in reality were a bit rubbish, in part down to rubbish hubs.

the shimano wheels were heavy.

molgrips
    Free Member

Why does everyone complain about rim tape all the time? If it’s that bad just use strips.

bigblackshed

I’d rather have a cheap sacrificial nipple than a whole rim condemned because of one stripped nipped or spoke thread.