Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • What tyres for making progress in my boxter
  • tpbiker
    Free Member

Needing some new rear tyres for my 986 boxster s. I’m not going to be taking them anywhere near the limit of the car, forum members will be glad to know I’m a careful driver.

That said I’ve got some cheapo rubbish on the back currently and they have no place on the car. Front tyres are mid range jobbies from Avon. Not ideal but I’m reluctant to replace them at them moment given they only have about 3k on them, and I’ve never had an issue with them. That said I’d probably replace them at the end of the summer.

At the moment however just looking at rear tyres  Obviously answer is probably zeros or a pilot sport 4 however they are top of the range tyres and I would be a million miles from needing the level of grip they provide. As such I’m looking more mid range and would rather keep the cost under 140 a corner. Falken 452s appear to no longer be made and the goodyear eagle does not get great reviews

Now before anyone comes out with the obvious ‘tyres are the only thing that keep you in contact with the roads’ I understand that.. However at same time the only time I ever drive the car hard is in a straight line and in the dry.. I’ve not managed to crash on the worn down budget tyres I have at the moment so I’m sure a midrange option will be suitable

scaredypants

AO48 – or 32 if you’re using it in snow

[oppo]_[/oppo]

Bullet

Bridgestone Adrenaline RE002 – if they do them in the size you need?

CountZero

One of the blokes I work with has a Boxter, he also used to race cars, ran a race team, and now does Supercar Experience days at Castle Combe, Thruxton and a couple of other circuits, so his input should carry some weight; I’ll drop him a message and ask him, or else I’ll ask him when I see him Monday morning.

dannybgoode

Uniroyal RainSport 3 are an excellent tyre. Very grippy in the wet and perform well in the dry as well.