Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Website software
  • wetgrassagain
    Free Member

I am a freelance graphic designer using Adobe Creative Suite and spend most of my day using Photoshop, illustrator and In Design.

Adobe GoLive comes as part of creative suite with which I have built a few websites. The website side of things seems to be taking off for me and I have been commissioned to build three commercial sites, but I am finding GoLive really struggles and is forever crashing.

Based on my background with Adobe products what application(s) would you recommend for building low(ish) end websites?

WGA

the-nasher
    Free Member

I’ve got adobe web premium. This incudes Dreamweaver, which if you use in coded view is pretty good.

I have to develop in a proper content management system, but dreamweavers still good for designing the layout/css etc

RudeBoy
    Free Member

Ah, with CS3, GoLive has become Dreamweaver, due to Adobe’s acquisition of Macromedia.

DW is very good, if you’re an image-minded person, although the coding geeks don’t seem to like it (and produce sh1t looking websites). DW has it’s own built-in FTP thingy, which allows ytou to update sites really easily.

I build stuff up in DW, and let a mate do the coding fixes.

Sure you can get DW on it’s own, but probably a lot better VFM to get the whole CS3 package.

the-nasher
    Free Member

The secret with dreamweaver is to use it in code view and write the code youself. like any wysiwyg type thing if you use it in design view it adds all the crap.

allthegear
    Free Member

You don’t mention if you’re on PC or Mac. Mac, buy Coda (www.panic.com) – it’s fantastic.

The main thing, though, is to really get it into your head to separate content from style, something that is incredibly difficult to do in other media. An example of this would be to not include any style in your html – move it into CSS.