Viewing 29 posts - 1 through 29 (of 29 total)
  • Uzbekistan, Kyrgyzstan (non biking)
  • MadBillMcMad

Hi all,

NB: this is for a non biking trip!
    But any experience from the wise, & not so wise but experienced gratefully appreciated.

I’ve posted on BB as well if that is your preferred outlet – https://bearbonesbikepacking.co.uk/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=14662

We (Mrs C & me) are hoping to go Uzbekistan & the general area in October. We have 2-3 weeks & want some culture, trekking & chilling. The latter may come for free. We have trekked in Sri Lanka a few times & Thailand so are not total novices but rusty.

Our current plan is … Plan so far is: Tashkent, (3N), Khiva (2N), Bukhara (2N), Samarkand (3N), Tashkent (1N).

N = nights, Uzbekistan travel by train.

Then either/both trek in Chimgan area of Uzbekistan, or fly to Bishkek & go to Issyk Kul lake for a weeks chill & trekking. How does that sound ? Tash Rabat would be amazing but suspect that is 3 days in itself, although the whole journey from Bishkek would be bound to be vaguely exciting.

WildHunter2009

Went to both last year over about 5 weeks. Amazing countries. And I think it’s gotten a bit more straightforward with visas as well which is nice.
    Tashkent is ok, nothing special. Although I think you might be allowed to take pictures on the metro now which would be cool as the stations are a bit mad. I would drop time form Tashkent and add to Bukhara or Khiva of possible.
    Samarkand has some incredible stuff to see but is a less likeable town. Bukhara and Khiva we liked more. If you have time in Khiva get out on a car/taxi trip to the Kala forts on the desert.
    People are nice, food is good (plov can be amazing). Take cash!!!! So much this. Unless things have changed enormously there are like 3 ATMs in the country you can use and they might not be working.
    Any questions just ask.

egb81
    Free Member