Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Tubeless experts please help.
  • theboatman
    Free Member

I’m a veteran of tubeless and have never really had any gripes of problems with it….. till now.

I have some Alex ATD470 tubeless ready rims, that I have tried to set up with some Hutchinson fusion 5 tubeless tyre’s. Not pricey rims but set up a pair previously with no issues.

Current attempt is is with the above, Tesa 19mm tape and sealent. No problem getting inflated and the front is fine, holds pressure no fuss. But the rear leaks air from the join in the rim 😕 so re-tape and clean, new tubless valve and the air still comes out of the join, in just one side of the rim.

If this was a problem with the valve or the taping I would assume air would come out of the spoke/ valve holes, but equally the air seems to be coming out about 2 to 3mm down from the edge of the rims at the join, and I would have thought the tyre sits below that?

Seems to hold pressure till about 50psi then air comes out of the rim joint.

I’m very happy for someone to tell me what I’m doing wrong. Please tell me, my arms are knackered from track pump activity…

jonnyboi

Hold the rim horizontally with the rim joint facing away from you. Shake up and down to force sealant into the rim joint to seal it.

the atd470 is pinned so it is likely there is a gap at the joint

Poopscoop

So actual sealant is coming out of the join and not sealing it?

theboatman
    Free Member

Left it horizontal last night, slightly tipped to that joint, as I had the same thoughts. With the tape and the tyre there doesn’t seem to be a route for the sealent to work through to the join, but clearly air is getting through. Guess I can try again, so ta. Feel abit like my minds popped, never had an issue with tubeless before, so I feel a bit vexed.

theboatman
    Free Member

@poopscoop

No, no sealent leaving the joint, just air.

tillydog
    Free Member