Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 45 total)
  • Track Pumps – Is there any reason to shell out a fortune?
  • cubist
    Free Member

Just been looking around for a track pump. My Lidl special has bust. Is there any genuine benefit of remortgaging to buy a posh one?

Debated getting one of the ones with the extra chamber for tube less but are they alright for regular tyre pumping duties?

globalti
    Free Member

Make sure you get one with a thin barrel for high pressures. Actually the Decathlon track pumps are excellent value and work really well.

theotherjonv

Frankly, for the amount of time I use it, not worth shelling out a load. As long as it works and has a gauge I’m OK. If i was a shop or a mechanic or someone that pumped up lots of tyres every day, i might have a different opinion.

I don’t have tubeless so the reservoir types don’t impact me (although i’d be tempted when my current goes tits-up as long as they’re not majorly more expensive.

mjsmke

I bought a Halfords Bikehut one years ago and it’s still going well. Even after a few angry tubeless episodes.

thomthumb
    Free Member

my lidl one is bent.

this might have happened is use, or by a car seat being pushed on it. I genuinely don’t know.

chiefgrooveguru

Make sure you get one with a thin barrel for high pressures.

Make sure you get one with a fat barrel for lower pressures and a gauge which is useful in the 15-35psi range.

This is still a MTBing forum! 😛

muppetWrangler
    Free Member

I bought a SKS Rennkompressor track pump which i guess is relatively expensive. I’ve had it twenty years and other than one new head it’s been trouble free and showing no other signs of giving up on me.

crashtestmonkey
    Free Member