Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • Tourer/Gravel type bike. idea’s please.
  • ton

on the lookout for cheapish tourer/gravel bike.
    nothing too fancy,i have a fancy ti tourer, but something i am not to bothered to leave outside pubs and cafes when away, and i still fun taking offroad along local paths and tracks.
    £1k budget. dont seem much available. any idea’s greatly appreciated.

or has anyone got anything to sell ??

jimdubleyou

I’ve been kicking about on a mk1 Arkose for 8 years now – they have one of the lower spec bikes on clearance.

https://www.evanscycles.com/brand/pinnacle/arkose-2-gravel-bike-915760

ElShalimo

@ton – have you looked at Spa Cycles? I’m sure they’ve got a frame for your spare parts

or a full bike for £950

https://www.spacycles.co.uk/m1b0s225p4009/SPA-CYCLES-Steel-Tourer-Flat-Bar-8-Speed

rossburton
    Free Member

I’m after something similar but am thinking an oldish XC 29er hardtail with rigid forks and big fat wheels. Monstercross ftw.

ton

just been looking on Spa cycles website. to be honest, for value they take some beating.
    got a couple of suitable builds about 1k. and available in stock.

jimdubleyou

A few of the folk I do fnrttc with have the Spa Audax.

Nice looking comfy bike. Wouldn’t want to take it *too* off road, but definitely a nice bike

Hedgehopper

I put a PSA up for this the other day, I think it’s a good spec for the price

https://www.evanscycles.com/brand/pinnacle/lithium-3-2022-hybrid-bike-939173

p7eaven
    Free Member

I’m after something similar but am thinking an oldish XC 29er hardtail with rigid forks and big fat wheels

So, an MTB/hardtail? 😉 I had a monstercross (Vagabond) and was going to suggest that but they’ve recently upgraded to 725 tubing and also quite a price increase. A used Vagabond could be a good shout, OP? But read the sizing charts and I’m normally a medium but Genesis revommend a large.