Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • tech help: streaming on my non-smart TV
  • headfirst
    Free Member

Right then I need your technical help explained in a non-technical way please.

I have a Lovefilm subscription which includes their Instant streaming service and last night I bought Series 5 of Fringe on blinkbox (the only legitimate source from my research), which I then watched on my Nexus 7. It would be nice though for the wife, my daughter and I to watch it all together on our telly.

So I have 2 problems as I see it:

1. The wifi signal is very weak in our front room as it has to come through an old double-brick previously exterior wall.
    2. Once I’ve got decent internet in the room I need a device to make my TV ‘smart’.

Oh, a third problem: I’m quite tight and so don’t want to fork out on a new smart tv.

So my question to you smart folk* is what’s the best value,simplest and most reliable solution please. Powerline thing or wi-fi booster? Which set-top box? (I currently have a V+ HD box, if that makes any difference). Links would be much appreciated. And yes I have googled it.

Ta in advance.

* see what I did there? 😀

WackoAK
    Free Member

Cheapest solution would be to run a HDMI cable from the Nexus to the TV?

muppetWrangler
    Free Member

1. The wifi signal is very weak in our front room as it has to come through an old double-brick previously exterior wall.

Powerline extenders will solve the wifi issue.

2. Once I’ve got decent internet in the room I need a device to make my TV ‘smart’.

So many options, exactly how tight are you and what sort of budget do you think would be reasonable? First two that spring to mind are: a jailbroken AppleTV although not that cheap or I think a Raspberry Pi can be turned into a media player which would be cheaper option worth exploring.

[edit]
    Or more obviously the suggestion above.

headfirst
    Free Member

a jailbroken AppleTV

sounds dodgy…

a Raspberry Pi