Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • STW Career Advice – Marine Sciences?
  • maxtorque

I know the STW net casts wide when it comes to what people do, so are there are Marine Scientists, Engineers, or even Biologists on here?

I’m thinking of a total career change, and i’d love to do a job that involves in some way the sea (and an excuse to move somewhere near to the sea…).

I’m currently an engineer, with both mechanical and electrical/electronics skills, and given that EVERYTHING involves electronics these days, there has got to be some sort of transferable skills right? From Boats, to ROVs, to underwater instrumentation, data aquistion and processing, where would i start to look for opportunities in this (wide) career area?

Idea’s and suggestions gratefully received!

jam-bo

Oceanographer here. Mostly doing sensor development and testing for a UK manufacturer.

aberdeen is a big cluster for oil and gas. Southampton/Portsmouth area has a lot going on. A bit down here in the SW.

autonomy is the big thing right now.

jam-bo

https://www.autonautusv.com/careers

autonaut are recruiting for head of robotics at the moment if you fancy Bognor…

oceanbuzz newsletter has regular job postings.

jonba
    Free Member

Take a look at offshore wind. There is a huge amount of work required around survey for offshore wind farm. Lots of projects kicking off.

wbo
    Free Member

Start having a look at companies like Gardline and Fugro who do the majority of marine surveying.

eskimonumber1

NOC at Southampton would be a good shout too:

https://careers.noc.ac.uk/vacancies.html

maxtorque

All good and interesting stuff!

How hard do you think it will be to get in for a typical interview with no previous marine experience?

freeagent
    Free Member

BAE systems in Barrow constantly have Engineering Vacancies (Submarine design and build)