Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • ‘Stolen’ images
  • Paul-B

Bit of a ‘what would singletrack do’ type enquiry here.

A while ago I posted some images on my Instagram account (as you do). I also shared them in a specific hobby group on Facebook too. This was a good few months ago now. The image in question was taken by me, of my property, on my property.

In the same group I posted another image and one of the comments was that they recognised the car in question (it’s an RC car group) from an eBay listing and asked if I was the seller of the parts.

Long story short, looks like someone the other side of the road (Australia) has poached my images for use on their commercial eBay listings.

Not sure what I should do about it (if anything, I’m not a professional and in effect the images are in the public domain having been posted on SM).
    I have some sausages in the freezer but can’t travel to Oz right now…what would Singletrack do?

Robz
    Free Member

Don’t ever go on Alibaba Express… its littered with stolen Instagram images

I was sent images by a friend that had been lifted out of my instagram account that were being used by a seller to sell knock-off Giro helmets. Not just pictures of parts either – actual pictures of me and my wife riding our bikes!

Its part of the risk of putting pics out in the public domain.

I wouldn’t lose any sleep over it.

johndoh
    Free Member

As above – not much you can do about that sort of stuff. Had it been a brand using images without your authorisation then it would be a different matter (not that pictures being in the public domain is sufficient argument legally, but it just wouldn’t be worth the hassle).

Drac

You could contact eBay and report the fraud with evidence of your pictures. That’s about it.

MarkyG82

Pretty sure that pics posted to FB become their property. As they own Instagram……