• This topic has 32 replies, 19 voices, and was last updated 2 years ago by ed-.
Viewing 33 posts - 1 through 33 (of 33 total)
  • Should I bother swopping Bird Aether9 for Am9??
  • ed-
    Free Member

Ok I’m new to mountain biking. I’ve not been riding as much as I’d like due to family circumstances. However I got a Bird Aether9 at the beginning of this year. I’m very happy with the bike and it feels very capable.
    I’ve started to ride the small stuff at a bike park and enjoy it. I mainly ride the bull track (near Tunbridge Wells) plus ride Surrey hills. Haven’t got to rogate yet! My family life is busy at the moment.
    When choosing the aether9a I was thinking I was going to be riding more flatter trails but I’m riding more fun stuff now. The bike is still more than capable. Plus my skills aren’t amazing (not hitting anything big at all. Just small jumps) but I am improving and Ive been thinking maybe the am9 might suit me best in the future.

On Birds Facebook page there’s a guy wanting to swap his am9 for a aether9. Both bikes about the same age and I’m thinking about swapping the frame and coil forks etc..

Is it worth all the hassle? Should I bother as I’m happy with the aether9a. But just maybe the am9 might suit me better in a year .

Any thoughts?
    Ben;-)

Cheers

bentudder

Both of those are pretty big bikes for the Surrey Hills. Maybe not Bull track, mind. You don’t know what the other bike has been put through – yours is a known quantity – and you’ll be going a while before you bump up against the limitations of the bike you own.