• This topic has 30 replies, 25 voices, and was last updated 5 years ago by pondo.
Viewing 31 posts - 1 through 31 (of 31 total)
  • Redundancy – its a bit $hit isn’t it, new beginnings and all that.
  • steve_b77
    Free Member

Well the letter landed the other day, after an initial mass consultation informing us that we were to be put at risk, so I am now provisionally redundant from my role, with termination of contract looming on the April 5th and payment in lieu of notice.

Thankfully the package presented is pretty good, so the pressure to find a role isn’t massive right now and I work in the rail industry so it’s awash with vacancies at the moment, which is nice.

It’s a strange feeling actually seeing written down on a bit of paper what your boss actually thinks (scores & justification) of you, despite deep down knowing it anyway; and as I discussed with my company council rep yesterday at a further consultation meeting, it can’t be good when other than the few good people the biggest thing you’ll miss about your job is the car! Ironically he agreed and was in his words, amazed that I was the one who had been selected and the whole process stunk from the top to the bottom.

So, all being well, I’ll pick up the money, secure another job which will more than likely not start straight away as HR never seem to be that efficient and that the weather in April is good so I can get some riding it.

Once nice thing is, that as I’m not going to the office (invoking the mentally fit to work protocol we have) and that’s been agreed, I can take the kids to school and then walk over in the afternoon and walk home with them over the fields that lie between us and the school.

Painey
    Free Member