• This topic has 32 replies, 27 voices, and was last updated 6 years ago by iainc.
Viewing 33 posts - 1 through 33 (of 33 total)
  • Quick skills pointers for newbies
  • marti
    Free Member

I’ve just agreed to help lead a group of amatures / non bikers on a film shoot.
    Terrain is glentress blue tracks.
    Any good ideas for some quick bike handling and motivational warm up stuff I can do to help put them at ease?
    So far I’ve thought of weaving through some cones bike proficiency style.
    Normally my bike rideing advice stops at stay of the brakes in the corners and you will be fine!

lucasshmucas

I’m a newbie and went on a skills course at Glentress a month ago. It made a huge difference to my ability and confidence. The things that stick in my mind are:

1. Getting my weight forward over the front wheel in the attack position for corners and drops. Before I was shown this I had my weight over the back wheel and struggled to get round any corner.
    2. 1 finger braking – having the other 3 fingers on the grips gives so much more control than just using 2.
    3. Line choice through corners. – basically entering the corner high and wide and exiting about three quarters of the way around. Learning this meant that I avoided going in too tight and going off on the exit.

chilled76
    Free Member

Dropping the outside pedal when cornering harder and putting more weight through the outside pedal. Means if the bike breaks away you go with it rather than the wheels coming out from under you.

yacoby
    Free Member

> Dropping the outside pedal when cornering harder and putting more weight through the outside pedal. Means if the bike breaks away you go with it rather than the wheels coming out from under you.

I disagree. Better just to tell them to keep the pedals flat and leave it at that. The limited beginner rides I have been on (on the GT red) it was always people who didn’t have flat pedals that were sketchy rolling over drops.