Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Pension (and ISA) advice / thought process checking.
  • kcal

I posted in a similar vein last year – fortunate position of having a work pension from some time ago and a SIPP that is self-managed. Plus one ISA that is externally managed and one self-managed. With my mum’s death, things got quite complicated, we have engaged a financial adviser to go through options. Result of review is OK in parts but not certain on others.

Obviously we will make that point, but it’s such a minefield of an area with vested interests and points of view; the options seem to be retain the self-managed stuff (with risk I’m not good at it) or full-on externally managed with quite large fees.

I could do with some triangulation – get another opinion even informally, to see whether the likes of (but not limited to) index tracker funds or Fundsmith and ilk are viable options; I fear they have not been mentioned as there are little fees involved (and we would then need to select – thus still retaining some decisions, and not consolidating, which would be obvious).

Is a third, low risk with low ish fees a viable third way – first world problems and all that, but I’m a little lost the more I dig into this rabbit hole.

Thanks!

footflaps

or full-on externally managed with quite large fees.

Define large?

I have one pension managed by a local wealth mgmt company, fees are 1%. Their fund is a custom blend of trackers / bonds weighted to my risk profile but total fund fees and platform fees are another 0.3%, so overall fees are 1.3%.

The bulk I just managed myself an a mix of SIPPs and ISAs.

The cheapest option would be to use Vanguard platform and their managed funds – very low fees.

kcal