Viewing 21 posts - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)
  • Open Mapping
  • scotroutes

GPS threads regularly mention a variety of mapping options for Garmins. I’ve been using the maps from OpenFietsmap for a few years. They only update the UK section annually and the new version has just been published. Pretty good timing actually as I’d only recently made some changes via OpenStreetmap and they made it in

https://www.openfietsmap.nl/downloads/europe

13thfloormonk

Sorry, mild hijack, is it Openstreetmap I need to sign up to if (ultimately) I want Strava route planner to snap to routes that I know exist?

Ta

scotroutes

No idea I don’t use Strava for route planning. I don’t know how you’d “sign up to” OpenStreetmap either.

If Strava uses OSM data for its mapping then adding stuff to OSM will see it eventually appear there. That’s what I do with Komoot too. Komoot seem to update their base maps every couple of weeks.

StirlingCrispin

Cool.
    Scotroutes – how do you view these maps ?
    DO you use them on a Garmin ?

I use TalkyToaster and I assume any OSM changes will appear there fairly quickly.

scotroutes

I download mine to a Garmin and also use Basecamp on PC.

I think TT maps are updated monthly now.

phil5556

What’s the benefit of these over the standard Garmin maps?

And the same question for TT.

They’re all based off the same OSM data aren’t they?

13thfloormonk

Oh. My. Word.

I think I’ve just found my new obsession, updating Openstreetmap!

Super simple to do and you can import gpx traces from Strava so if you rode a trail that doesn’t show up e.g. in Strava route planner you can trace the bit you rode and add it as a trail etc.

I’ve also updated a few ‘footpaths’ to ‘paths’ in areas where Strava route planner won’t plot.

Remains to be seen how long it takes Strava to update it’s route planner though, some random on Reddit reckons every 4 years 😖😖

scotroutes

I think I’ve just found my new obsession, updating Openstreetmap!