• This topic has 36 replies, 18 voices, and was last updated 11 years ago by Taff.
Viewing 37 posts - 1 through 37 (of 37 total)
  • Nutrition Conundrum – Early Rides
  • Shibboleth
    Free Member

I’ve been noticing a marked lack of performance at the beginning of early morning rides and wondered if anyone has any similar problems or solutions.

A bit of background, I’m halfway through an 11-week program (Charmichael’s Time Crunched) so I’ve been getting plenty of road and turbo miles in.

Most of my training is in the evening, but I do a big base-miles or group ride at the weekend, early morning start.

My day job is fairly sedentary, I tend to eat scrambled eggs for breakfast, light lunch and don’t struggle with a 2-3hr ride or interval session in the evening.

But, I just can’t seem to get going for early morning rides. I’m fine after about 30 miles, but my legs feel sluggish and heavy until I’ve really opened them up. Structured warm-ups like I do on the turbo don’t seem to help either.

I tend to fuel up for the big weekend ride with porridge. Could it be that I’m not used to eating so much carbs early in the morning? Can anyone suggest a different approach that won’t have me bonking on 4-5 hour rides?

Thanks in advance…

emsz
    Free Member

Perhaps, if your doing loads more exersize ( part way through your programme) you’re just more tired, and either you need to go to bed earlier to get more rest, or your body is telling you to take a rest!!

Shibboleth
    Free Member

Emsz, I’m feeling better than ever, faster on all climbs, sleeping like a baby, far more energy throughout the day… It’s just those early rides, legs feel like lead for the first 20 or 30 miles.

Once they’ve opened up, I’m absolutely fine… And no problems at all riding at night…

FuzzyWuzzy

I take it you’re not doing an interval session the evening before? Anyway I’d just try and eat your normal eggs on toast breakfast and see how you feel…

Shibboleth
    Free Member