• This topic has 11 replies, 11 voices, and was last updated 11 years ago by Bear.
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • New boiler Advice needed….Plumbers needed.
  • danjthomas
    Free Member

Hi, my mother in law is getting a new boiler fitted in a month or at least getting quotes. She has been recommended a ariston 30Kw boiler which apparently has a 5 yr warrenty on parts.

Its a three bed end terrace. Is this boiler gonna last? is it good enough to run a shower (non-electric) and radiators the same time etc..

Any advice will be much appreciated. Im an engineer but have no idea when it comes to stuff like this.

RustyMac

People are going to need a little more info to help you properly. Size of rooms, is the house well insulated, size of radiators etc.

I am no expert but I can’t say I have heard of Ariston as boiler company. As far as I am aware Worcester Bosch And Baxi are the two biggies. Presuming this is a mains gas combi that is going in

TheFunkyMonkey
    Free Member

Avoid the ariston, not particularly reliable and parts are both scarce and expensive.

Baxi, Main, and Potterton are all the same.. Reliable, cheap to buy and easy and cheap to fix.

Worcester, valiant, weisman are all very good too.

Also avoid vokera, ravenheat, biasi

30kw should be plenty

danjthomas
    Free Member

Funky monkey are you a plumber? cheers for your time..

zimbo
    Free Member

There was a thread on this recently and all those in the know settled on Worcester Bosch as the top dog…

SonicTheHedgehog
    Free Member

I’ve just been through this process myself. My advice would be to discuss with the installer all the details before the work begins. Things like new radiators, valves, thermostats, pipework alterations and rubbish disposal, and get a price/quote for everything. I was fortunate in as much as I have known my installer for 30 years and he is very trustworthy and got a good job done.