Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Need some help (suspension forks)
  • harris172
    Free Member

I have recently purchased a Whyte 603 hardtail and it comes with stock Suntour XCR’s which I was planning to upgrade straight away. The issue is it has a straight steerer and I’m finding it difficult to find any in stock or any at all!

I have found some suntour Epixon and looking at some rockshock Judy’s. (I’m new to this) are these basically a straight swap? or do i need to change any parts?

Thanks!

HoratioHufnagel
    Free Member

It’s likely that you can change the headset to make a tapered fork fit. Exactly which headset you need is tricky as so there are so many variations.

Fitting the new headset and fork is probably a job for a shop if you’re new to this!

nickjb
    Free Member

As above. See if you can change the lower headset cup to an external one so you can fit a tapered fork. Lots more options then. Or a second hand fork, but prices are still a bit crazy

harris172
    Free Member

Ok cheers! I will have a look into some headsets it would make it easier for sure!

thols2

are these basically a straight swap? or do i need to change any parts?

The Epixon is a decent affordable fork, much better than the XCR. If it has a straight steerer, it should basically be a straight swap. You will need to remove the crown race from the old fork, this is part of the headset. For some headsets, it will just slip off by hand. For others, you will need tools to remove it and fit it to the new forks. You should be able to find videos online showing how to do the job, but getting a shop to fit the crown race might be a good idea if you’ve never done it before.