• This topic has 13 replies, 11 voices, and was last updated 5 years ago by aP.
Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Leasehold help
  • 40mpg

My mother in law is looking to buy a flat leasehold. I’ve no experience of this, so just doing some research.

Apparently there’s 70 years left on the lease. Someone has told her it should be at least 99 years? Also any real world guidance on things to look out for, pitfalls etc. And surveys? I guess usual rules apply and get full structural survey but would this be for the whole building? It’s 3 storeys and has about 20 flats so not sure how that would work.

Any pointers appreciated!

Rockhopper
    Free Member

She might struggle to get a mortgage on such a short lease. They tend to expect at least forty years remaining after the end of the mortgage.

40mpg

No mortgage- she’s been in council all her life but has inherited a bit so just enough to get to a nicer area

jimdubleyou

Quite a good guide here…

https://www.moneysavingexpert.com/mortgages/what-is-a-leasehold/

They also have a guide on how much it will cost to extend the lease – which if she’s planning on leaving an inheritance for somebody might be an issue.

40mpg

Cheers Jim 😁

milko9000
    Free Member

I think she’d have to live there three years to be allowed to extend the lease herself, for this reason it’s quite common to negotiate with the seller to get it done first. Hopefully with a building that size the actual management of the place is reasonably straightforward, it was painful when I lived in a block of five because we could never get enough of the leaseholders in agreement and funds at the same time to make much happen.

She could just live there and run down the lease herself, but it will get progressively more expensive to extend and harder to sell on later.

petec
    Free Member

this lot (Lease Advice) will tell you even more. Government run, and great help 15 years ago when we needed some, er, advice.

aP
    Free Member