Viewing 23 posts - 1 through 23 (of 23 total)
  • How long should an X9 rear mech last?
  • AndyPaice
    Free Member

Not SRAM bashing in general, I like the drivetrain stuff and it seems more resistant to knocks than shimano mechs. I like the shifting too.

I’ve been running a SRAM X9 rear mech for about 18 months, and it is now so badly worn on the pivots that it is adversely affecting the shifting.

the play seems to be evident at all the pivot points and at the much hanger mounting point, but most noticably at the join between the plastic and metal parts of the cage.

Anyone running a long lasting X9 mech or do they not last more than a year or so? For £65 rrp I would like them to last a few years at least!!

lets not get started on the jockey wheels 😉

scaredypants

I think sloppy pivots are pre-installed on SRAM mechs

imnotamused
    Free Member

Mines lasted just over 2 years but I have 2 bikes so a year’s worth of heavy use really. It’s been mangled in the spokes twice during that time and is certainly looking a bit the worse for wear but I can’t complain really. Doubt any other mech would have faired any better.

owenfackrell
    Free Member

My last one lasted 2 years ish before the play got to bad. though when i took it off the amount of wear on the cage from where the chain passed on the jockey wheels i was supprised it never snapped.

IWH
    Free Member

Mine lasted 1 week before it fell apart at the main pivots.

The replacement lasted 3 months before failing in the same way.

They replaced the mech & shifters with XT and everything is running sweet 2 and a bit years later.

No more SRAM for me.

epo-aholic
    Free Member

how long is a piece of string?

MrNutt
    Free Member

twice as long as half its length?

owenfackrell
    Free Member

which is half as long as twice its length

AndyPaice
    Free Member