Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • How Charities Run
  • tom84
    Free Member

I work part time as a teacher for a university (its only recently become a university, previously a FE college) that is not-for-profit and has charitable status. Although it’s hardly Oxfam/Amnesty/the BHF it does genuinely good work providing access to a decent level of education and resources to people who’d not otherwise be in a position to access this.

I am very committed to the work I and the other tutors/staff do, but the way it is run drives me nuts! The managerial/office staff two rungs down on the ladder could definitely run it without the two levels above them, and when I asked a friend who has worked for this place longer what the guy at the top actually does he said ‘he’s good at wearing scarfs’. With COVID the place is being put under significant pressure and the things the guy at the top does do are becoming more irrelevant in the new reality.

I have idle fantasies about a mutiny as my importance/role is increasing (pay/position isn’t) and I come up against more of the stupid ways the place is run, as well as hear more about the dumb ways the other staff are generally treated. I’m fairly sure 50% of the staff think the same as me.

The two at the top were put at the top before I’d arrived, its not their charity they don’t own it as far as I know. Annoyingly for me, for them it is a nice little earner (they get paid full time and quite well) in addition to their other good income streams. The rest of us scrape by. Then there is a board of six who we never see and don’t come to the day to day meetings but who are prominent in circles that are vaguely connected to what we do (but crucially none work in education).