• This topic has 32 replies, 22 voices, and was last updated 5 years ago by m0rk.
Viewing 33 posts - 1 through 33 (of 33 total)
  • Had enough want to emigrate – to Canads
  • ravingdave

So been thinking about this for years. Started looking at Canada, but for various reasons it stopped. Ive got 3 kids aged 5, 3 and 1. Wife is a qualified paediatric nurse. I am a building surveyor/h&s consultant.

The UK is terrible and i didn’t want to raise my children in a country like this.
    So for anyone who has done this a few questions,
    Will I/we find work? How easy is it to go? Is age a factor?

RobHilton
    Free Member

They won’t let you in if you can’t spell it.

tuboflard

How old are you and your wife? Age is definitely a factor and from my very hazy memory anything over 30 is nigh on impossible without advance sponsorship. Others with much better knowledge will be along soon I’m sure to give you a better answer.

nicko74

How old are you and your wife?

Without really knowing much about your specifics, I’d say it’s doable but would require a bit of effort. Assuming you’re over 30, you’d need a working visa/ temporary work permit (which would be sponsored by an employer for one of you) or to apply for permanent residency (which can take some time). If you’re under 30, there is still I believe a working holiday visa, which can then provide a stepping stone to make the rest of the process a bit easier.

The biggest challenge is likely to be qualifications and recognition of them. I have an expat medical friend who avoided having to retake all his medical exams by taking a role with a large teaching element to it (as I understand it); I also have a couple of Irish friends in the architecture/ building space who I *think* had to do some work to refresh their qualifications to Canadian standards.