Viewing 34 posts - 1 through 34 (of 34 total)
  • Glasgow folk – where to live for the University?
  • oldtennisshoes

University of Glasgow, not the others in the city.

Junior is just finishing off his first year and with the accommodation situation being pretty dire, we are considering buying somewhere that his younger sister is likely to use as well.

In terms of areas, I suppose Hillhead and Great Western Rd up towards Anniesland are the obvious choices, but what about Partick and other areas just out about a bit?
    Any other areas to consider, especially within easy access using the underground?

squirrelking
    Free Member

You’ll be lucky, when I was a student there 20 years ago those were the places folk were living in up until everything was gentrified and made unaffordable. From what I gather Dennistoun seems to be where the affordable stuff is that isn’t a complete hole.

EDIT: sorry, didn’t read that right, missed the bit about buying.

Partick, Finnieston and Woodlands are all decent enough areas, to be honest though if they can be bothered cycling that opens up more options.

irc

Plus one for Woodlands. Woodlands has the advantage of two underground stations. Walking distance from both Byres Rd and the city centre. Close to Kelvin walkway and the canal for cycling or jogging. Finnieston area just an easy walk through Kelvingrove Park. Plenty good shops and bars on Great Western Road between Woodlands and Byres Road.

I had a flat there for 7 years. Bought a 2 bedroom for £18000. So that tells you how long ago it was.

Another option is Temple/Anniesland area. But you are getting further out. The buses along Gt Western Road are regular and there is a good train service to the city centre.

joshvegas
    Free Member

Southside.

Not much point to living in the West end since The Halt closed down.