Viewing 24 posts - 1 through 24 (of 24 total)
  • Garmin keeps straight-lining my rides (lower spec GPS??)
  • p7rich
    Free Member

I have a Garmin Edge 200 (the new-ish, cheap-ish baby Garmin). On Strava it appears to ‘straight-line’ sections of my rides more often than i was expecting (i’m new to GPS). Should i assume, because the unit is bottom of the Garmin range, it just has an inferior spec’ GPS (drops less markers or something??) or is this normal for a GPS?

druidh
    Free Member

Check that you don’t have it on an “energy saving” setting.

p7rich
    Free Member

Don’t think so. I’ll check…

druidh
    Free Member

Just had a look at the manual. There is nothing there about a power saving setting. However, the Autopause feature has a Custom Speed option. It could be that this is switching the timer/recorder off when you are going too slow. Try Setting Autopause off, or set the Custom Speed a bit lower.

p7rich
    Free Member

Thanks druid. I tried those settings and, when setting it to ‘pause when i stop’ it kept pausing at just low speeds. “Custom Speed” just does the same but raises the threshold. It’s set to record/time all the time (Autopause off) so not sure those settings are relevant?

druidh
    Free Member

Ah well. It was worth a try!

If you are riding under trees (especially wet ones), the signal can easily get lost. Similarly in built up areas with tall buildings or steep sided valleys. It would be worth checking your Strava logs to see if the affected areas have anything in common.

toys19
    Free Member

My htc desire hd does this, I put it down to crap quality phone gps..

p7rich
    Free Member

perhaps crap quality non-phone gps exists also?!

p7rich
    Free Member

…which is a shame because all it does is log rides and doesn’t seem to do that very well.

mr_mills
    Free Member