• This topic has 44 replies, 30 voices, and was last updated 8 years ago by yunki.
Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 45 total)
  • Depression advice (yes, another one i'm afraid)
  • redsox
    Free Member

Not trying to be piffy, but I try to make light of it whenever I can.

So, due to many factors that I won’t bore you about, i’ve been carrying depression around for about 13 years now. Took medication for about 4 years then asked to come off them. Was off them for two then went back on them last year when I found myself being an argumentative sod all the time.

Now these do seem to be working to an extent (20mg Citalopram seeing as you may ask) and I probably do feel a hell of a lot better than I did. Example, about 6 years ago, at the height of it all, i was spending more than 60 quid a month on magazines as I’d developed a strain of OCD into the bargain.

Now that’s under control. I feel happier than I did, I rarely buy magazines and the OCD is well under control. What is bothering me thouhg is that my decision making skills have never really returned. I feel constantly unsure about what I want to do or who I am (because my mind is constantly telling me I need to fit in somewhere and I need to be defined as a person) And I have never went back to being the generally laid back person I used to be.

Outside of work (which is most likely a big factor due to not really liking the place I work, but at least I know to look for somehting else) I don’t really do very much other than look after my little one, take the dog for a walk and wait for my wife to come up with ideas.

I am turning 40 this year, and there is a part of me wondering if all the indecision is some sort of weird midlife crisis and I just need to MTFU and buy a convertible red sports car.

Anyway, I know a lot of people on here have posted about the spectre of the dark depression, and i’m just looking for ideas in how to combat these feelings.