• This topic has 27 replies, 20 voices, and was last updated 2 years ago by TiRed.
Viewing 28 posts - 1 through 28 (of 28 total)
  • Cycling and body weight
  • Mounty_73

I have been loosing weight for a few months now, down to dropping of medication and cycling longer rides.

I use to be around 14.5 stone now I am down to 11 stone 11 pound and I have started to get a little conscious and aware that I am going the other way (too thin).

I understand that more exercise will loose weight, but I feel a bit underweight and sometimes weak. I have blood test to make sure nothing was going on with my body and all is ok.

I eat healthily, no processed food, all meals are made from scratch, loads of veg, not all that much fruit if I’m honest.

What sort of foods should I eat more of to increase weight and to feel a lot more stronger and healthier etc?

jimmy

The answer is probably protein – lean meat and beans.

But there are many questions in what you’ve said. If you’re feeling weak and tired you might be riding too much. More detail needed. What height are you, target weight, BMI, how much riding are you doing. I’m no expert, but it won’t just be about food.

tonyd

Definitely more info needed! Well done on losing 2.5 stone, but how tall are you etc? What is your ideal weight for height, body shape, etc?

As above, if you are feeling weak then maybe you’re not eating enough, are doing too much, could be a number of things. How much longer are your rides now? For example, if you’ve gone from 10 milers to 100 milers then you need to give your body a chance to adapt.

Most of us could probably do with losing a stone or two (I certainly could), and it sounds like you eat more healthily than me. Does the doctor agree you are losing too much weight or is it your perception?

Personally I’d recommend speaking to professionals rather than well meaning folks on an internet forum who don’t know you.

Nobeerinthefridge
    Free Member