Home Forums Bike Forum Cannondale Topstone sizing

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Cannondale Topstone sizing
  • meandyuk

Hi, I’m contemplating one of these bikes but i’m a bit confused on the sizing (i’m no expert when it comes to geometry)

I’m about 179cm/5″9 and the few bike shops I’ve asked have suggested a size medium for the topstone. However, looking at the Geometry chart for a size medium, it seems to compare more to a Caadx or other bikes that are size 56cm which are usually a little on the large size for me. I’m looking at TT length & reach figures.

Is there something i’m missing? I know I need to try one really but there aren’t any about !

Cheers
    Andy

sasanach
    Free Member

Two bikes that look very similar but designed for different ride styles. The Topstones are much longer for off-road stability (article), whereas the CAADX is based around cyclocross, so much more racey. I have a CAADX and have been looking at swapping it out for the Topstone, as although the CAADX is a fantastic bike, I always feel like it’s at the edge of it’s (or my) ability when the going gets rougher.
    Someone’s likely about to make a comment about the perils of BB30, but I’ve had no problems myself (yet).

meandyuk

Cheers for that. The BB30 doesn’t bother me (I have a caad12 with no problems) it’s the advantage of the Hydro brakes on the 105 topstone which is getting my interest.

TheGingerOne

I have a Slate in medium and am 180 cm. Though other Slate users run a large.

I would have thought the Topstone will have similar geometry to the Slate rather than a CAADX

trailwagger
    Free Member

I believe virtual top tube length is the better measurement to go by than reach due to gravel bikes having a slacker seat tube angle.

ciderinsport
    Free Member

Hargroves cycles have them on show at the moment! Go talk to them, touch it, feel it!

https://www.hargrovescycles.co.uk/hub/events/cannondale-2019-preview-event/

meandyuk