Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • Cable Cutter Recommendations
  • fathomer

I appreciate this has been done before but looking for some recommendations and it’s been a while as far as I can see.

Looking to spend £20 ish, they’ll be replacing some old Superstar ones that are now a bit blunt after cutting 64x spokes 🙂

nickjb
    Free Member

I’ve got the Draper Expert ones which are pretty widely available for about £10 (I suppose you could buy 2 and keep one for best). Do the job just fine.

snotrag

Just bought the Park Tools CN-10 for about £20 from CRC. I’ve had chaper ones for home use but I used to use the Park ones when I worked in a shop and they are very nice.
    So long as I dont lose them, I dont envisage ever having to buy another set.

thisisnotaspoon
    Free Member

Another set of £8 cutters and don’t use them to cut spokes?

mattbee

My Park ones are coming up for 20 years old. If they broke I’d buy another set.

lunge

I have the Park tools one and whilst they may be fine for spokes they’re pretty crap for cables. The cheap ones from Planet-X are loads better.

whatgoesup

My Park ones disappeared a few years ago – three house moves later I finally admitted they were fine and bought some £10 Draper Expert ones which just fine -if not better.

reggiegasket
    Free Member

[don’t cut spokes with cable cutters…]

Felco if you want the best… not cheap though. Mine are over ten years old.

leffeboy

I have the Park tools one and whilst they may be fine for spokes they’re pretty crap for cables.

That.  The tightness has to be super carefully adjusted to make them work.  Pain in the arse and wouldn’t buy again.  I get the impression from reviews that there is some quality control issue because some folks love them and some folks hate them.  I’m using Knipex 95 16s now which are the next price range up (but work).

tall_martin

Cheap bbb cutters have worked perfectly for me since 2005. £2 pliers are perfect for spokes

martinhutch